An edition of: WaterAtlas.orgPresented By: Sarasota County, USF Water Institute

Sarasota County Water Atlas


Sarasota County's NPDES co-permittees include the four incorporated municipalities within its geographic boundaries, as well as the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). District 1 of the FDOT is responsible for construction and maintenance of state highways in Sarasota County, including stormwater conveyances on state-owned right-of-way. Each co-permittee must file a report annually with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection detailing activities such as water quality monitoring, spill response, illicit discharge control, inspection/monitoring of offsite targeted High Risk Facilities industries, street sweeping, litter control, public education and enhanced mapping of infrastructure. Below you will find links to these reports and contact information for each co-permittee.

Jump to co-permittee section:
Sarasota County, Florida Department of Transportation, Town of Longboat Key, City of North Port, City of Sarasota, City of Venice

Sarasota County


Permit Contacts
Sarasota County
1001 Sarasota Center Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34240
Rene A. Janneman
Environmental Specialist III
RJannema@scgov.net
Phone: (941) 218-0098
John Ryan
Environmental Utility Manager
JRyan@scgov.net
Phone: (941) 650-2159

Florida Department of Transportation


Permit Contacts
Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) District One
801 N. Broadway Ave
Bartow, FL 33830
Website
Steven Kelly
Maintenance Environmental Specialist
Steven.Kelly@dot.state.fl.us
Phone: (863) 519-2762
Robert Potts
Consultant E-Sciences Senior Scientist
RPotts@escienceesinc.com
Phone: (407) 481-9006

Longboat Key, Town of


Permit Contacts
Town of Longboat Key
600 General Harris Street
Longboat Key, FL 34228
Website
Charles Mopps, PMP
Public Works Project Manager
CMopps@longboatkey.org
Phone: (941) 316-1988 ext. 2226
Isaac Brownman
Public Works Director
IBrownman@longboatkey.org
Phone: (941) 316-1988

City of North Port


Permit Contacts
City of North Port
Department of Public Works
1100 N. Chamberlain Boulevard
North Port, FL 34286
Website
Elizabeth Wong
Stormwater Manager
EWong@cityofnorthport.com
Phone: (941) 240-8321
Gerardo Traverso
Engineering Division Manager
GTraverso@cityofnorthport.com
Phone: (941) 240-8091

City of Sarasota


Permit Contacts
City of Sarasota
1565 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34230
Website
Georges Nicolas, M.CE, P.E.
Capital Projects Engineer NPDES Coordinator
Utilities Department
City of Sarasota, 1750 12th Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
Georges.Nicolas@sarasotafl.gov
O: (941) 263-6136 | C: (941) 376-4535
Michael DelRossi
Manager Public Services
Michael.DelRossi@sarasotafl.gov
Phone: (941) 263-6132

City of Venice


Permit Contacts
City of Venice
401 West Venice Avenue
Venice, FL 34285
Website
Steve Berens, EI
Stormwater Engineer
SBerens@venicegov.com
Phone: (941) 882-7413
Kathleen Weeden
City Engineer/Stormwater Utility Director
KWeeden@venicegov.com
Phone: (941) 882-7409