An edition of: WaterAtlas.orgPresented By: Sarasota County, USF Water Institute

Water-Related News

SWFWMD awards education grants to Manatee and Sarasota County schools

The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) awarded $119,000 in grants to 65 schools within the District as part of the Splash! school grant program. The program provides up to $3,000 per school to enhance student knowledge of freshwater resources in grades K-12.

Splash! grants encourage hands-on student learning through STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) activities as well as engagement of the greater school community through awareness campaigns. Each school district allocates a portion of their annual youth education funding provided by the District to support the Splash! grants in their county.

The District awarded grants to the following schools/teachers in Manatee and Sarasota counties:

  • Ashton Elementary School - Kelly Griffith
  • Bayshore High School - John Silva
  • Booker High School - Toni Riebe
  • Brookside Middle School - Katie Hill
  • Marjorie G. Kinnan Elementary School - Meggan Lutes
  • Louise R. Johnson K-8 School of International Studies - Deborah Peters
  • Manatee High School - Boontarika Elswick
  • Myakka City Elementary School - Anna Kuehn
  • Phillippi Shores Elementary School - Suzette Trapani
  • Toledo Blade Elementary School - Madeleine Tarsek
  • Venice Middle School - Beth Mayberry

Grants are available for freshwater resources field studies, water-conserving garden projects, community or school awareness campaigns and on-site workshops. Last year’s Splash! grants brought water resources education to nearly 10,487 students throughout the District. For